La Vie mode d’emploi/ Life: A User’s Manual

Concierge with the Post Man
Concierge with the Post Man

Finishing this was a struggle, I admit it.  But it was all worth it in the end.

It is a fabulous picture of the history of a Parisian apartment block and all of its inhabitants using the conceit of going through the building room by room.

Some rooms contain great inventories, others stories, others bits of jigsaws that add to the stories of others.

I would heartily recommend this – the back cover of my edition desribes it as something like the last of the great novels.

It is an immensely complicated work, but as you see it begin to see the human stories and family sagas knit together it all makes sense.  I also enjoyed it because I think I could reread every chapter discretely as a kind of poem.

Author: caseyleaver

Internal communicator obsessed with eating, preparing and sharing food, and running (off all the food).

One thought on “La Vie mode d’emploi/ Life: A User’s Manual”

Leave a comment