Blog Migration

In the middle of August I will be leaving Warwick (to be the new Corporate Communications Manager at the Open University).

Plenty of time yet for me to say fond farewells and work out how to keep in touch!

But, given that I will have to migrate my blog, where is the best place to go?

The things that I like best about Warwick Blogs are:

  • the fact that it’s easy to make entries visually appealing
  • the tagging
  • the blogroll reader element
  • the ease of uploading and presenting images
  • the permissions (although nowhere else can replicate that)

So, what’s best for me? All advice welcome.

Comments
10 Responses to “Blog Migration”
  1. Kieran Shaw says:

    Wow, congrats on the new job! Just time to move on huh?

    As for where to take your blogging…I’m not sure. Plenty of people
    have good things to say about WordPress these days. I believe our
    export options will allow you to import you content in there.

  2. John Dale says:

    I think Vox ticks all your boxes, even including the permissions stuff.

  3. Congrats on the new job Casey 🙂 WordPress or Vox are probably your best bets, I think.

  4. Casey Leaver says:

    Thank you! What about Blogspot?

    The reason that I ask is that some of the food blogs that I read (see left) look very nicely presented and are hosted there.

  5. Sara Lever says:

    Well I for one will genuinely be sad to see you go! MMhh Milton Keynes are you sure?

  6. Casey Leaver says:

    Thank you Sara – I’ll be coming by to say goodbye!

    John – can I export my existing contents to Vox if I go there? It seems to have something to do with an Atom feed: link

  7. Natalie Snodgrass says:

    Can’t
    comment on Vox (no experience there) but was able to port my blog
    (including all comments) to WordPress easily (via Moveable Type) – only
    thing is (I think) having to re-upload your pics to the WP server. I
    think WP is really fully featured and it’s been very encouraging to see
    regular developments and updates to what’s available (many of which
    have come on the back of user suggestions and comments). Happy for you
    to come and have a look at the admin controls on my blog if you want 🙂

    Incidentally I thought this was an interesting article: http://ukwebfocus.wordpress.com/2007/01/24/third-party-or-institutional-provision-of-blogs/

  8. Congrats Casey! Well deserved – sorry to see you go though.

  9. Angie Cross says:

    OMG! Congratulations! Such good news, and so thrilled for you. I love the OU.

    G
    xx

  10. Many Congrats on the new job, it sounds great!

Leave a Reply

