Because it’s been too long

A short lyrics quiz…

Song title and artist please.

  • I’ll get over you… I know I will, I’ll pretend my ship’s not sinking
  • 19. you’re only 19 for God’s sake, Oh, you don’t need a boyfriend.
  • He said: “What do you think of my manifesto?” “I like your manifesto, put it to the testo”
  • You asked me what’s my pleasure, A movie or a measure?
  • I think she’s pretty, And I think that you have done quite well
  • It’s better to seek a home in Mount Zion high, Instead of keeping oppression upon innocent man
  • All that I have is all that you’ve given me, did you never worry that I’d come to depend on you
  • Lots of people talk and few of them know, soul of a woman was created below.
  • Early one morning, With time to kill, I borrowed Jebb’s rifle, And sat on a hill
  • We should be like a couple of hot tomatoes, But you’re as cold as yesterday’s mashed potatoes

Comments
20 Responses to “Because it’s been too long”
  1. 2. Long Blondes – Once and Never Again

  2. 9. Johnny Cash – I hung my head

  3. Ooooh, #4 is Blondie – Dreaming

  4. Casey Leaver says:

    Had that been bugging you?!

  5. No, but it did come up on my media player whilst I was re-reading the page 🙂

  6. Chris May says:

    1. Go West: King of Wishful Thinking (should I be ashamed to know that?)

    3. Sultans of Ping FC: Where’s me jumper? (Classic :-))

    8. Led Zep.: Dazed & Confused.

  7. Casey Leaver says:

    Yes, yes, you should be ashamed. As I am.

  8. James Miles says:

    #6 is something like Carry Go Take Home, if I remember correctly. Someone else is going to have to say who it’s by though.

  9. James McLachlan says:

    #7 is Stop by Sam Brown.

  10. Pop says:

    Last one Hot tomatoes – A fine romance – Ella

  11. Casey Leaver says:

    A couple more knocked off.

    James (Miles) – you’re close, and definitely thinking of the right song, but not quite right.

  12. Dave tCB says:

    No.5 is ‘Don’t Call Me Baby’ by Voice of the Beehive.

  13. Casey Leaver says:

    It is – I’m glad someone got that!

  14. Casey Leaver says:

    Ok – and the last one is Carry Go Bring Come. And the version I know best is Freddie McGregor.

    That’s all over then.

  15. James Miles says:

    Of course! Carry Go TAKE Home? I mean WHAT?! Hahaha.

  16. Toots says:

    Here’s another one:-
    “And sometimes when we touch, the honesty’s too much.” (preferably by Rod Stewart)
    If anyone gets it right could you tick it rather than cross it out, please?

  17. anon says:

    I
    had an idea last weekend. My family were all together and so I asked
    them what their favourite song of all time is and they all told me
    (although it was a difficult decision for them to make and some of them
    thought it may change if I asked them another time). I’ve now put them
    all on my I-pod and I thought I would ask extended family and friends
    too because I like having them on my I-pod. These are the songs they
    chose:-

    Wish You Were Here – Pink Floyd
    Gimme Shelter – Rolling Stones
    Africa – Toto
    Die Schone Mullerin:Mein! – Schubert
    All Right Now – Free

    It would be interesting to see other peoples family collections of favourite songs.

  18. Chris D says:

    Sounds like a good idea on the face of it but theres no way I’m having Barry Mannilow on my I-pod.

  19. Toots says:

    I asked around and here are some more –
    Dock of the Bay – Otis Reading
    I predict a Riot – Kaiser Chiefs
    Days – The Kinks
    Peer Gynt Suite No.1 – Greig
    To Know him is to Love Him – Dolly Parton
    Purple Haze – Jimi Hendrix
    Roll with It – Oasis
    Moon River – Mancini
    Canon – Pachelbel
    Whisky in the Jar – Thin Lizzy
    Brown Sugar – Rolling Stones
    Up the Ladder to the Roof – The Supremes
    Rhapsody on the Theme of Paganini (18th Variation) – Rachmaninov
    The Blue Danube Waltz – Vivaldi
    Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds – The Beatles
    I like to Move It – Madagascar 5
    And I Love Her – The Beatles
    Come Tomorrow – Manfred Mann
    Electron Blue – REM
    Immigrant Song – Led Zeppelin
    Waltz of the Flowers – Tchaikovsky
    Don’t Look Back in Anger – Oasis
    Just Like a Woman – Bob Dylan
    Little by Little – Oasis
    Moonshadow – Cat Stevens

Leave a Reply

