Thwarted

Book front cover

Title:
The Bookshop at 10 Curzon Street: Letters Between Nancy Mitford and Heywood Hill 1952-1973
Author:
John Saumarez Smith
ISBN:
0711224528
Rating:
Not rated

I was planning a lunchtime book-shopping spree – but fate has made
me leave my card in my jeans pocket, on the chair in the bedroom…

Anyway – I’m halfway through this, which is very enjoyable. And I
bought Duff Cooper’s diaries on Friday which has also given me a taste
for the period…

So, here’s what I would have bought had I remembered my card:

  1. Love From Nancy: The Letters of Nancy Mitford
  2. Mitfords: Letters Between Six Sisters
  3. When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit

The trouble with all the Mitford stuff is that I just find myself
wanting to read entire bibliographies full of stuff – it’s never ending.

The particularly interesting thing is comparing the slants in all
the editing and writing and trying to build up a picture of your own.
Which I suppose historians have known forever!

Comments
3 Responses to “Thwarted”
  1. Nat says:

    Oh
    Casey. You clearly don’t do quite enough online shopping! Your task for
    this week is to memorise your card details so you can indulge in
    lunchtime shopping sprees whenever the fancy takes you.

  2. Casey Leaver says:

    Requiring me to remember a long series of random digits? Oh dear.

  3. Nat says:

    Darn. Forgot about that one. Practice makes perfect? It’s much easier if you memorise it in edible 4-number chunks 🙂

Leave a Reply

