Knock, knock, knock on wood.

Follow-up to Rubbish Homeowner from Casey’s Blog

Determined not to make the same mistake this year.

Although I may have a small problem as Himself did manage to pull the door knocker off the door recently.

So not only is there not a bell, there is now no door knocker either.

Another thing to add to the list of things to fix.

I was discussing the following points of Halloween etiquette with a colleague last week:

  • Tell children not to accept – and, especially, not to eat – anything that isn’t commercially wrapped.
  • Throw
    out candy or treats that are homemade, unwrapped or if they appear to
    have been tampered with (pinholes in wrappers, torn wrappers, etc.)

And,
as a parent herself, she responded with the memorable retort that
“parents shouldn’t send their children out begging then!”.

Made me chuckle!

Comments
7 Responses to “Knock, knock, knock on wood.”
  1. I
    have bought some sweets for trick or treaters who may knock on my door
    tonight. I have also invited my 13 year old cousin to come round and
    protect me if any of the trick or treaters throw the sweets back in my
    face and demand some money!

    Something funny and very
    endearing happened last night. I was at Mom and Dads and some trick or
    treaters knocked the door. Being a bit of a cynic who enjoys winding
    people up (and not being as prepared as me with sweets!) – Dad went to
    the door with some satsumas! When he offered the kids a satsuma each
    expecting them to go – “huh, where’s the money?” the little girl
    instead said “yeah – I love satsumas!”. Maybe they aren’t as bas we
    think!

  2. I have bought a jumper so when I stand on the roof with the hosepipe I won’t get cold.

  3. Helen Ryan says:

    I have eaten half the haloween chocs already

  4. Casey Leaver says:

    Nobody came. I’ve had to bring my big pack of fun-sized packets of haribo into work.

  5. Nobody
    came to mine either but I emptied all of my sweets into a colander (ok
    – I didn’t have a suitable bowl!) and didn’t fancy brining a colander
    to work. I will find a suitable bag and bring them with me tomorrow!

  6. Coe says:

    Hey
    you have the Autumn Days – Estelle White music? could ya e-mail it me
    please! I love this song so much and i wana figure out the guitar for
    it cos no-one has posted anything about the guitar music!

  7. Casey Leaver says:

    I’m afraid I don’t have the music anymore.

Leave a Reply

