I’m Wearing My New Headphones

Writing about web page http://www.sennheiser.co.uk/uk/icm.nsf/root/04924

And they’re lovely. Himself bought them for me for Christmas and this is the first time that I’ve used them.

They’re fantastic – I’m never going back to my Sony MDR-V50s.

Here’s the science bit(!):

The
NoiseGard™ technology developed by Sennheiser is used in many cockpits
all over the world. It is based on the principle that unwanted
low-frequency noise can be eliminated by adding phase-inverted
anti-noise. Fot this, small microphones (usually in the ear cups) pick
up the ambient noise. The NoiseGard™ electronics then generate an
identical signal – but phase-inverted by 180. Thus the two noise
signal waves cancel each other out to a very large extend, and music
can be enjoyed to the full.

Comments
5 Responses to “I’m Wearing My New Headphones”
  1. Sounds similar (identical?) to what BOSE have been doing. Now that I have my Triports
    (for over a year now) I don’t think I could ever go back. It’s so
    refreshing the first time you put them on because the first thing you
    do is take off all the crappy equaliser settings you have to put on a
    music player and just marvel at the reproduction of the original.
    Awesome.

  2. Max Hammond says:

    Mat
    – the Triports are just clever drivers, not doing active noise
    reduction. Bose do make some noise-cancelling cans though, called
    QuietComfort.

  3. Mat
    – the Triports are just clever drivers, not doing active noise
    reduction. Bose do make some noise-cancelling cans though, called
    QuietComfort.

    Yes, I know. I just can’t
    afford the QuietComfort ones. It was more an off-hand comment about
    headphones really, but thanks for the condescending remark either way 🙂

  4. Max Hammond says:

    You’re welcome 🙂

    What I’m really tempted by are the Shure earbuds – why cancel the background when you can just plug it all out… 🙂

  5. Si King says:

    Hi. If you’re still looking for noise cancelling headphones then I’d reccomend you check out http://headphonereviews.blogspot.com.

    Personally I’ve been using the Sony MDR-V50s. They’re cheap but I think they’re a lot better than my previous panasonic headphones which cost me around 80.

Leave a Reply

