Jerk Chicken with Papaya and Avocado Salad

Follow-up to Don’t Eat Anything You Can’t Lift from Casey’s Blog

Jerk Chicken with Papaya and Avocado Salad

I
am superwoman – after arriving back home at 7 last night from the
conference I cooked this – it was fabulous and worth the effort. The
recipe isn’t hard – but there are lots of different components!

Ingredients

  • 8 boneless chicken thighs with skin (I used 4 with bones)
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Jerk seasoning (I used Walkerswood)
  • 1 tbsp oil (I omitted this)
  • 1 small avocado
  • 1 just-ripe papaya
  • 1 spring onion finely chopped (I used 2)
  • Salt & pepper
  • 8oz mixed green salad leaves (I used 1 whole romaine)
  • Guava vinaigrette
  • Chopped fresh parsley (I omitted this as well)
  • 3 cloves roasted garlic crushed (I usedfinely chopped raw garlic)
  • 3 tbsp white wine vinegar (I used cider vinegar)
  • 2tbsp guava/ redcurrent jelly (I used quince jam)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil (I used 3 tbsp)
  • 1/2 tbsp finely chopped fresh oregano (I used a lot more)

Method

  • Wash chicken in lime juice
  • Marinate for as long as possible in jerk seasoning (15 mins in my case)
  • Roast chicken for 20 mins at 200 degrees C and then leave to cool
  • Mush garlic with vinegar
  • Melt the jelly and add it to vinegar mixture
  • Whisk in oil and then add oregano, salt & pepper
  • Peel and chop the avocado and papaya
  • Add the spring onion and cover in lime juice and seasoning
  • When the chicken is just warm/ room temperature plate up
  • Salad, then chicken then papaya & avocado then dressing

Now,
this is supposed to serve six. Admittedly we reduced the chicken etc. –
but it only served two of us (with a corn on the cob on the side).

Mmmmmmm. Fabulous – I’d recommend this one to anyone!

Comments
5 Responses to “Jerk Chicken with Papaya and Avocado Salad”
  1. Mmmmm – looks yummy!! I will definitely try to cook this one… one day…

  2. Tom Abbott says:

    Jerk Seasoning – isn’t that Lloyd Grossman’s new range 🙂

  3. Dan Goodman says:

    Mmm,
    I love this sort of salad. If you’re ever in London there’s a
    restaurant in Crouch End I think called Banners which does possibly the
    world’s best jerk chicken salad. (Also, don’t miss out on the pecan pie
    or chocolate brownie they do for pudding.)

  4. Ben King says:

    So when are you going to invite me to dinner?!

  5. Jamaica Lee says:

    The recipe looks good. The spicy Jerk chicken definitely benefits from being served with a light accompaniment like salad.

    Did you ever try making your own jerk seasoning?

Leave a Reply

