I Don’t ‘Get’ MySpace

Writing about web page http://www.myspace.com/caseyleaver

In the spirit of trying to get down with the kids and understand such things I have set up a MySpace page.

And I don’t understand it. Maybe it’s because I have no ‘friends’.

I did also try looking at Facebook which looked very similar – and I didn’t understand that either.

I mean by that, that I don’t understand its purpose or uses or indeed even how they work.

MySpace also seems very clunky to edit. Just plain hard work in fact.

Comments
13 Responses to “I Don’t ‘Get’ MySpace”
  1. Mathew Mannion says:

    You’re a braver woman that me.

    I
    hate it. It hurts my eyes. Judging by all the pages I’ve seen on it, it
    must be near impossible to make a page look pretty. The interface is
    really rubbish.

    And it’s owned by Rupert Murdoch.

    That
    said, it seems to be a good way a way of finding new music. If you find
    something you like, you can daisy–chain your way through to find other
    things. But then that too can be problematic; I read something in The
    Independent recently which said something to the end that in the
    small–print that if you upload music to MySpace, you basically give
    rights to NewsCorp above anything you’d ever give to a record company.

    Ah, found it: link
    —– COMMENT:
    young girls seems to be based entirely on the community of x bazillion
    people. Facebook is popular because, again, the community is made up of
    people you know, people at University, and you can do daft things with
    it.*sends friend request* bwahahahhahaha

  2. Andrea:
    MySpace came back almost immediately from that and said that any music
    that you upload to it is the property of the owner, so they’d find it
    very difficult to regene on that, almost certainly they’d get fined to
    hell.

  3. Steve Rumsby says:

    Apparently “Tom” is your friend now.

    I
    brieflly had a play with MySpace, and very quickly deleted my account
    again. Didn’t see the point. But then, I had no friends either. Except
    maybe Tom – I can’t remember now if he was my friend for those few
    brief days.

    I came to the conclusion you need to be a
    teenage girl to understand it, so there’s no hope for me. Perhaps my
    daughter will explain it to me in a few years time…

  4. MySpace is a place which creates both horrible web pages, and shameless social whoring.

    I
    like Facebook a bit better as having to have a Uni/work email address
    acts as a pretty good filter for teenage idiots and fictional
    characters, and it helps to find people you actually know.

  5. Don’t
    worry Casey – I have added you as a friend although I only have a total
    of four – one of these is Tom, two are bands I know, and one is the
    lead singer in the band I know : S

    I don’t quite get it either. Myspace doesn’t make it easy to find people you know… but then I never really tried.

    I
    can see its use for up–and–coming bands – just look at the success of
    Arctic Monkeys and Lily Allen who (it seems) almost solely extended
    their fanbase by their myspace friends/networking.

    Also, you can attempt to make your page look nicer by using this website: link but I think thats hard to use too!

  6. I wouldn’t trust a god–ugly website like that to make your MySpace pretty :/

  7. Lee Davis says:

    The first thing to do with myspace is remove Tom as a friend.

    There
    are actually quite a few different myspace editors around, all with
    different failings. Unfortunately there doesn’t appear to be any
    documentation around so you can work it out for yourself.

    I
    only actually set one up so I could see how to customise some friends
    pages for them. It is also quite useful for finding out who musicians
    are when I’m trying to update the tin angel website.

    I’ve
    only got 30 friends on mine, but I do know , or have at least spoken to
    most of them. I don’t really see much point to any of these social
    networking sites for individulals, it is good for bands, but I find it
    annoying the number of musicians have registered domain names then just
    point them at their myspace page.

  8. I
    signed up for it. I hate its interface and I have still to discover its
    usefulness if you’re not a band (which I’m not, obviously). And I can’t
    stand being constantly added as a friend in the bucketload by utterly
    random people who I’ve never met (like Tom). See one of my blog entries
    to see what I’m on about.

  9. Holly Cruise says:

    I
    don’t rate it but I have one so I can post on my brother’s wall and
    annoy him… and that’s about it really. He finds it useful though.

  10. Casey – you sound just like Charlie Brooker!

    See his piece in last weeks Grauniad: link

    You must be so proud.

    (I couldn’t agree more, by the way)

  11. Casey Leaver says:

    Because
    I don’t “get” it. I mean, I know what MySpace is and what it’s supposed
    to do and how influential it is. It’s just that whenever I’ve visited a
    MySpace page I’ve thought “is that it?” and wandered around the
    perimeter looking confused, like a blind man patting the walls for an
    exit he can’t find.

    That’s it! That’s exactly how I feel! Yay – I am proud now.

  12. Trust me, nobody “gets” it, right up till the moment they find themselves checking it everyday. Both for MySpace and Facebook.

  13. I think Tom is my friend too. I have only two. Only registered so I could advertise WGA events – same for Facebook – you can find grads that way! Charlie Brooker sounds like a man after my own heart!

Leave a Reply

