A Mass Panic

Himself
is preparing for a fully fledged panic – his exams are this week and
he’s been winding himself up as tight as a coil for over a month.

Every
spare moment has been dedicated to revision – including revising after
a full day at work followed by two hours at college.

He’s got to the stage where he’s convinced himself that he’s definitely going to fail.

He’s
comparing himself to Homer in the Simpsons episode where Homer learns
all about wine and in the process forgets how to drive because he only
has space in his mind for so much knowledge.

So in his honour some relevant Homer quotes:

You can’t keep blaming yourself. Just blame yourself once and move on.

Lord help me. I’m just not that bright.

Alright, let’s not panic. I can make money by selling one of my livers, I can get by with one.

Every
time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain.
Remember when I took that home winemaking course and forgot how to
drive?

I didn’t need that fact…now I forgot who won Bud Bowl 8.

If something is hard to do, it is not worth doing.

I’m off to buy Himself some Bach Rescue Remedy – by Wednesday evening I’ll be making him drink shots of it…

Comments
3 Responses to “A Mass Panic”
  1. Tom Abbott says:

    Lisa: the Chinese have the same word for “crisis” and “opportunity”

    Homer: Yes! Crisitunity!

  2. “Kids, you tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Rather pertinent for our undergraduate students perhaps:

    “Alright
    brain, I don’t like you and you don’t like me, so just get me through
    this exam so I can go back to killing you slowly with beer”

    –Homer Simpson

Leave a Reply

