Student Cookery Guide – Volume 1 (Introduction)

Writing about Food. from Et tu, Bloge.

Inspired by this plea for help I am going to be blogging a series of
basic, cheap recipes which can be dressed up or down as appropriate.
Hopefully.

Prices will be checked on the Tesco website – but you can probably get a lot of it cheaper at Coventry Market or Farmers’ Markets.

This won’t be a complete guide but I will also try and indicate which utensils will be needed for each recipe.

Most
of the recipes will probably be largely vegetarian as well – I think it
works out cheaper and it means that when you do buy meat you can afford
to buy a nice bit.

Comments
6 Responses to “Student Cookery Guide – Volume 1 (Introduction)”
  1. Woohoo!

    Just what I need! 😀

  2. Oooh
    that sounds interesting – I’ll be checking for interesting things to
    make. I like cooking – and have more time to do it now! Yay!

    Kate

  3. Excellent, i need some veggie meals

  4. Dan Goodman says:

    I’ll do a guest column if you like. I already have some of my common recipes written out on my recipes webpage.

    What
    counts as cheap enough for a student these days? I’m quite curious to
    know. I guess the cheapest dinner I make tends to cost about 1/person
    for something quite basic, but I really have no idea. I’m thinking
    about something like carbonara – 2 rashers of bacon, 2 eggs and 125g
    pasta = about 1? (I reckon it’s more like 2–4 the way I make it – 4
    rashers of dry cure bacon, 3 egg yolks, de cecco pasta and parmesan
    cheese.)

    Oh wait a minute – dal – that has to be even
    cheaper than 1/person if you buy your ingredients from one of the
    Indian shops in Leamington (huge sacks of rice, lentils and spices for
    next to nothing). Also, it’s easy to make enough to last you a week. 😀

  5. Casey Leaver says:

    Yes please Dan. I think this is going to be fun.

    We do need to know what people spend on an average shop though, that would be helpful.

    My suspicion is that lots of ready meal prices will make this seem cheap – and obviously much better for you!

    Mmmm – dal. I can recommend Costcutters in Leamington for ingredients.

  6. Umm, on average i’d spend about 25-30 on food.

Leave a Reply

