Big Banana Feet

Follow-up to The Winkle Song from Casey’s Blog

I’ve got a fragment of a saying or a line of poetry stuck in my head.

Actually it’s two – one was a couplet which my Grandma used to chant to my sister:

Skinny Malinky Longlegs,
Big Banana feet

(Always prefixed by Anna-Karana)

The other is something that I’m sure my Mum used to say to me when I was little (I must ask her).

It went:

Something, something, something,
Not even a sailor’s friend.

and it referred to when I was scruffy or dishevelled.

I’ve tried googling the second one – but I just can’t find it…

Comments
8 Responses to “Big Banana Feet”
  1. Andrea Breau says:

    Your post’s reminded me of a rhyme my granddad used to sing to me when I wouldn’t get up for school in the mornings as a child:

    “Lazybones sleeping in the sun
    How you going to get your day’s work done
    Sleeping in the midday sun.”

    I don’t know the rhymes you’re referring to though.

  2. Holly Cruise says:

    I
    know the first one but I cannot remember either where from or anymmore
    of it. Sorry, I can only confirm you’re not making it all up.

  3. skin and blister says:

    isn’t it: ‘no good to anyone, not even a sailor’s friend?’.
    ask Mumrah Leaver.

  4. Casey Leaver says:

    Ah – Mumra has been in touch by email.

    It is:

    Tatty old bit, not even a sailor’s friend.

    I’m currently interrogating her to find out why…

  5. Anonymous says:

    Hmm. I’ve heard the first one as ‘skinny malink malonjin legs, big banana feet’. God, Ireland’s weird.

  6. Casey Leaver says:

    Actually – you are dead right – maa-loh-gin legs. Yes. I know that version too.

    (Don’t laugh at my attempt to spell that phoenetically.)

  7. thefightingirish2000@yahoo.co.uk says:

    skinny
    ma linky long legs,big bannana feet,went to the doctors but couldnt get
    a seat,something something something but nothing could be done all
    because..something something something…thats all i can remember…now its
    driving me nuts! lol..

  8. Roy Watson says:

    MELODEON legs, for pity’s sake!

Leave a Reply

