Bolognaise

Here we are then, Sunday’s fake bolognaise.

I won’t have a word said against it, it was very comforting, and I got it all down my t-shirt.

  • 2x medium onions
  • 3x sticks celery
  • 2x large carrots
  • Lots of garlic
  • 3x rashers streaky bacon
  • Good quality mince
  • Too much olive oil
  • 2 1/2 tins of chopped tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp tomato pure
  • 1x glass good red wine
  • 2x tsps salt
  • Lots of pepper
  • 3x bay leaves
  • Small sprig rosemary

(Should have been oregano/ marjoram – but none in cupboard).

  1. Chop all the veg finely.
  2. Sweat the onions, celery and garlic til translucent and juicy.
  3. Add snipped bacon.
  4. Cook til bacon has cooked.
  5. Add mince and brown it stirring vigorously to prevent clumps of meat.
  6. Add carrots and cook for a few minutes.
  7. Add tomatoes, herbs, wine and seasoning.
  8. Bring to the boil and then simmer for as long as you can spare – but at least an hour.

Serve generously with bucatini.

I did say that it wasn’t very authentic – but it is great.

Anyway, that’s made me hungry – I’m off for lunch.

PS:
Small child model to the right doing a passable impression of my sister
when she was a baby. (She used to do the same with Chocolate Mousse.)

Comments
5 Responses to “Bolognaise”
  1. John Dale says:

    Shuld be blogonaise, surely?

  2. Pop says:

    You’re right about the photo !

  3. Sounds most tasty… you’re right about the simmering too, that’s the key!

  4. Dan Goodman says:

    I’m
    not convinced the classic ragu is better. I tried doing the full 5
    hours of simmering in white wine and milk recipe from Marcella Hazan’s
    “Classic Italian Cookery”, and I wasn’t entirely convinced. It did have
    a very fine mouth coating texture from the slow cooked fat in the
    mince, but the flavour was unremarkable. Heston Blumenthal recommends
    the addition of one star anise to enhance the meaty flavours which I
    may try. I’m also tempted to try browning half of the mince to get the
    browned meaty flavours, and gently sweating the rest for the lovely
    mouth coating texture. It’s a lot of bother though for spag bol. I
    think really I prefer this recipe for a lamb mince ragu with
    vegetables, link.

  5. skin and blister says:

    Is it too late to defend myself?…actually in fairness, that’s still quite accurate.

Leave a Reply

