Local Produce

Writing about web page http://www.warwickshire.gov.uk/Web/corporate/pages.nsf/Links/C6B2B92006295BCD80256D04004807E7

Despite feeling slightly worse for wear on Saturday morning I
dragged myself up and we arrived at 9 at the Leamington Farmers’ Market.

It
was a lot bigger than when we used to live in Leamington and starting
with a Double Whammy batch (2 pork & leek sausages & 2 rashers
of bacon) soon had me feeling more human and ready to shop!

We bought:

  • A pork tenderloin
  • A small leg of pork roasting joint
  • Warwickshire Truckle Cheese
  • A rye and granary loaf
  • An olive focaccia
  • Rainbow chard
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Yellow tomatoes
  • Yellow courgettes
  • Patty-pans
  • Old potatoes
  • Aubergines
  • Cucumber
  • Savoy cabbage
  • Sweet peppers
  • Fig & ginger preserve
  • Stawberries
  • Bramleys apples
  • Apple juice
  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Ginger

All produced locally! And most of it organic.

Then
we went to Medlar’s Farm Shop at Snitterfield and bought a load more
stuff – and then to The Crabmill in Preston Baggott for a pint for
himself and a glass of Pimms for me (hey – I was feeling summery!).

So, yesterday, I did something which is quite rare for me – I cooked a Sunday dinner.

We
had roast pork with cracking and apple sauce and rosemary roast
potatoes (roasted in duck fat) with heaps of squeeky-fresh cabbage.

The
only bits that weren’t local were the duck fat and the calvados that I
sneeked into the apple sauce (a stroke of genius even though I do say
so myself).

Go Warwickshire!

Comments
2 Responses to “Local Produce”
  1. The farmer’s market always amuses me. If they sell cattle at a cattle market, why don’t they sell farmers at a farmers’ market?

  2. Simon Young says:

    I
    got down there quite late but there were still some nice treats to be
    had, not the least of them being a fresh hot sausage batch for
    breakfast. I’d go back next month if I wasn’t back home in Surrey for
    the forseeable future.

Leave a Reply

