What would you have on your headstone?

Writing about Randomness from A Big Pile Of Awesome

It would be tempting to go with Dorothy Parker:

That
would be a good thing for them to cut on my tombstone: “Wherever she
went, including here, it was against her better judgment.”

Dorothy Parker, ‘But the One on the Right,’ – New Yorker, 1929
US author, humorist and poet (1893 – 1967)

But in retrospect I think I’d like to go with:

Casey Leaver
1978 – 20XX

Beloved blah of (Himself’s Name)1

What took you so long?

or

This is the last place I expected to see you.

(Yes, my tombstone must be properly punctuated.)

1 Regular readers will realise that this is not disclosed

Comments
17 Responses to “What would you have on your headstone?”
  1. Helen Ryan says:

    Helen Ryan
    1984 – 20XX

    Finally losing weight!

  2. Mat Mannion
    1984 – 1999

    “I thought it was chocolate

  3. Casey Leaver says:

    Good God – you two were born in ’84?!

    Eeesh.

    (Shakes head repeatedly in wonder and terror.)

  4. Helen Ryan says:

    Just to rub it in….
    I’m older than Mat and in the year below!

  5. Helen Ryan says:

    Having thought about this longer I quite like the thought of
    “See You Soon – Mwahahahahaha”
    or
    “Her corpse rests in Dan’s wardrobe

  6. “The bodies are under the patio”

    And yes, Helen’s older than me… But I am exceedingly young for a fourth year, I might add.

  7. Helen Ryan says:

    It’s my year out that did it tho. Just like Dan’s means he’s ancient compared to most of the Fort Awesome crew.

  8. I’m still one of the youngest fourth years having only just turned 21 though..

  9. Anonymous says:

    Hmm
    yeah I’d be the same if I hadn’t taken a gap year. I turned 21 last
    month and I’d be starting a job now. To be honest, I half wish I was.

    (I’m entering the third year.)

  10. Natalie Snodgrass
    1979 (just beat ya Casey) – 20XX
    Resting in peace in the smallest urn of ashes anywhere in this crematorium.

  11. Chelsea Reay says:

    Chelsea Reay
    1984–20xx
    Read this and weep

    either that or was it spike milligan who said he would have ‘I told you I was ill!’

  12. Anonymous says:

    “I’ve had enough of being behind this bloody caravan!

  13. Luke Parks says:

    Luke Parks
    1985-????

  14. Luke Parks says:

    Oops, should say:

    Luke Parks
    1985-????

  15. Luke Parks says:

    Damn! Stupid markup.

    Right:

    Luke Parks
    1985-????
    Imagine your own witty comment in this space

  16. Chris Rossdale
    1986–2080
    Ow

  17. Casey Leaver says:

    Now Chris, that’s not right, yours would read:

    I’m spending a year dead for tax reasons.

    It says so on your blog – which started the whole entry!

Leave a Reply

