Sprackle Update

She seems a bit down at the moment, I guess she’s fed up with being stuck in the house. I think it’s probably also that she’s calmed down a bit after being quite scared about being in a new place. She’s not following us round or jumping straight on our laps as soon as we … Continue reading “Sprackle Update”

She seems a bit down at the moment, I guess she’s fed up with being stuck in the house.

I
think it’s probably also that she’s calmed down a bit after being quite
scared about being in a new place. She’s not following us round or
jumping straight on our laps as soon as we sit down any more.

We had a few ups and downs last week – she’s a great sulker.

Things she didn’t like:

  • Being given her Frontline flea treatment
  • Being shut in the kitchen while we fle-treated the house
  • Being taken to the vets
  • Being in the car
  • Being combed
  • Being told off when she jumped on the table and started trying to eat my toast
  • Her cute cat bed – she disdains to use it

Thing she did like:

  • Anti-furball cat treats
  • Cat milk
  • Her toy mice and her pink woollen ball (not bothered about all the other toys though)
  • The mat by the front door – great for scratching
  • The new kitchen unit
  • Trying to sit on the breadbin
  • The spare room that she’s not allowed in because it’s too full of clutter
  • Her cat carrier (obviously far nicer than the cat bed despite the fact that she goes to the vets in it)

She’s going to sulk again tonight because we have to take her to the vets again to get her booster jabs.

Still Sprackle – only another 10 days and then you can go outside.

This weekend we are going to build her a toilet area in the garden.

Then everything will be ready for her first trip outdoors in Earlsdon.

I’m sure she’s fine though. According to the Cat Psychology Book that Rachel bought me for my birthday:

99% of cat problems are cat problems they are nothing to do with you or anything you’ve done.

Ok, now I’m
sounding neurotic, but I’m just worried about her. I need to remind
myself that cats are as cats do – and she is a cat not a dog.

When I play with my cat, how do I know that she is not passing time with me rather than I with her?

Michel de Montaigne (1533 – 1592)

Author: caseyleaver

Internal communicator obsessed with eating, preparing and sharing food, and running (off all the food).

8 thoughts on “Sprackle Update”

  1. Sounds
    like a typical cat. Of course no sooner have you decided what she does
    like she will change her mind and do completely the opposite. Kelvin
    appears to change his habits every few weeks. You can guarantee though
    that the place they most want to be is where you don’t want them to go.

  2. Cats
    make a habit of never sitting in the beds you buy for them. Never. Our
    cat used to love the top of the boiler in amongst the clean teatowels, inside the (open) microwave, and the basin in the bathroom everyone uses. I think they’re trying to make some sort of point, but I’ve never figured out what.

  3. Well, she perked up a bit last night…

    and
    this morning thie mystery of the breadbin was revealed. She doesn’t sit
    on it, she uses it to jump up onto the top of the highest kitchen
    cupboard to sit surrounded by spare kitchen roll.

  4. Next time you’re in Pets at Home, get some of their catnip spray. The stronger the concentration the better.

    Spray liberally on the new cat bed, and anywhere else you want the cat to go.

    Sit back and watch the fun.

    We’re still debating spraying our cocker spaniel with it, then letting the four cats loose……

Leave a comment